Posted by: projectnado | February 7, 2009

Man, I got to get me a Kayak!

I think I’m going to have to get me a kayak.  

Man Chills on Kayak

Man Chills on Kayak

There’s something about seeing a group of kayakers suddenly appearing in the channel. 

I got off the phone with my client and raced to grab my camera then made it outside in the ‘nick of time’ to catch a few shots of these lucky people. 

Kayakers Cruising the Cays

There were about 15 kayakers coming down the channel and turning around.  They were talking and stirring up the water and obviously having a great time. They didn’t even seem to care that I started taking pictures.

I assume they must have been having some sort of Kayak Meetup in the Cays. The only other time I’ve seen that many kayaks together was on a Fourth of July night a few years ago, when the yacht I was on almost ran them down, because – it was dark and they only had these itsy bitsy lights.  Good thing we heard them in time.

So, even though I’ll probably pass on any late night touring, I can’t think of a better way to get some outside water time during the day then to take up kayaking.  Plus it looks like good excercise, and after too much blogging, twittering, and real estate-in’ I need the exercise!

There’s one guy that I see every morning at the crack of dawn – simply booking it through my channel.  Why I bet he puts in a 10 mile row at least. And I don’t know much about Kayaks but they probably cost less then serious road or mountain bike. And my bikes can’t swim.

Anyone know anything about this sport, what’s recommended or where I can join a club?   Comments for this post are welcome and if you’re a kayaker – feel free to post a link to your favorite kayaking website.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

